New Gun, is it the model or chambering?

Guv

So several years ago I had to have an INOX 92. Went to the store and low and behold their INOX 96's were $40.00 less than the 92's, both USA made. I bought the 40. Point is, I wanted a full size Beretta and among service type calibers didn't really care. I have both now but whats new!:o So has anyone on here for example had to have a Sig 229, Glock, K frame, SP101, etc. and within reason, the caliber was not the 1st priority in making their choice?

Last edited:
I'm not sure that I even understand your question. First, I'm a veteran. The United States military has never adopted the .40 S&W as a general use cartridge. To me, the word "service" connotes adopted by the U.S. military. So your discussion lost me right at the outset.

Beyond that, it seems like the only variable in your actual question is brand. A Beretta 96 is not a Beretta 92, and a Glock xx is not a Glock yy. So it's not a case of wanting to buy a specific pistol but not caring what caliber it comes in. You are allowing multiple models within a brand, so you are really asking if someone has ever wanted a Glock -- ANY Glock -- and didn't care what caliber (meaning didn't care which model).

I can't even relate to that. My lens is that I'm a 1911 guy, first and foremost. 1911s are overwhelmingly .45 Auto. In general, if I were looking for a new 1911 I would very much expect it to be a .45 Auto, so caliber does matter. Conversely, if for some reason I wanted something different, such as .38 Super, I would still be looking for a 1911, probably a Commander, and again the caliber/chambering would matter because I would be specifically looking for a 1911 chambered for .38 Special.