New Deer Rifle..

tsreeves831

Inactive
I have been looking at new rifles to hunt with for several months now and think I have it narrowed down. I have no personal experience with a .25-06 and just very little with a 7mm-08, but those are the two calibers I am choosing between. Is there a significant enough difference in the two to matter when it comes to whitetail?

I have a 7mm-08 and a 30/30. My friend uses a 25.06 . Either the 7mm-08 or 25-06 will work great on whitetails its all personal preference both are up to the challenge. The only difference is the 7mm-08 can go up to larger game if needed. But for whitetail only either will do.

Mwal

there is so little difference it would not be a huge issue, 25-06 would be have the higher velocities but 7mm would have better bullet weight options. if you reload, 7mm would be better as it uses less powder(if I recall correctly) and there are a lot more 7mm bullet options out there than 25 cal.

Both are good choices. Barrel life in the 7mm08 will be longer if you plan on shooting a good bit. If you are using it just for hunting, you won't shoot it enough to worry about that aspect.

I shoot a 7mm08 primarily these days, I have yet to find a deer or hog or target that it won't do the job on. Mild recoil, efficient SA cartridge with a plethora of bullet weights available if you handload. Both cartridges are somewhat limited in factory bullet weights offered.

The quarter bore shoots flatter and faster with relatively mild recoil but considerably more muzzle blast.

If you do your part both of those are going to do theirs with the right bullets. If I were choosing between the them for myself I'd go with the 7mm-08, just because of the bullet choices (I handload). If you don't handload go with the one you feel more comfortable with.