New CCW holder

308Loader

Hello everyone. Not sure this is the right place to post this thought, please feel free to move it or delete it.

So, I am new to concealed carry. Got my permit this spring and carry on the rare occasion, still getting used to the whole thing. I've honestly have never been in a situation I couldn't talk or fight my way out of. The neighbor hood is getting rougher and I guess I'm getting old-er, fist fights might not go as well these days. So I thought I would exercise my right to carry.

A situation came up yesterday with a road raging douche bag. He thought 60mph was a good idea in my neighbor hood 30mph street and wanted to share some front bumper with my rear bumper. I kindly gave him the one finger waive when I turned down my street and went on my way. He (some young kid) whips a U turn in the middle of the residential street and chased me down to continue the conversation. When he caught up to me we had some nice words through the window. This happened to be one of the times I was carrying. All I could think is PLEASE don't get out of your truck, Please. Normally I think I would have helped him out of the vehicle to further discuss the matter.

I know I did the right thing by letting him vent his meth fueled frustration on me and my kid. It took a minute to for me calm down after the confrontation. Things could have gotten crazy had he gotten out and wanted to get physical. I suppose this sort of thing is why I decided to get the permit in the first place. This is just the first time I ever had to think about how real things could really get. Maybe I should just hit the gym and get back in fighting shape. First time gitters? Any one else have a first time confrontation that made them think about the choice to carry? I guess at least I had options if he wanted to draw.

There are some basic rules you must learn !!
Be Aware of you're surroundings at all times '
Do your best to AVOID confrontation.