New 700 setup, which 700 / what scope?

downhiller

Inactive
Hi all. First post so apologies for any overly-obvious questions, and the length.

I'm new to rifles but have wanted one forever, looking to pick up a new setup. Strictly for range & plinking use, won't be used for hunting. (Maybe to prepare for the zombie apocalypse.) I would like to have something capable of hitting at 1000 yards when I progress, but the longest range near me's 600 (I'm in Seattle), and it'll probably be a while before I get there. Price range, like to stay under $1,500. That being said if I do something I usually do it all the way, I'd hate to buy something then want something slightly better a few months later, so that number could change a little if worthwhile.

So far from researching around, think I've pretty much decided on:
Remington 700 - set on a bolt-action, also I have a 870 Express and love it.
Caliber - 7mm-08, I've read it's good for long-range accuracy, low recoil and decent barrel life.
Zeiss Conquest scope - good quality, decent price range.

I'd appreciate any input on the above, and I have a few questions I haven't found the answers to:
Which scope? How much magnification would I need for 1000 yards? Would a 6.5-20x be too much magnification for, say a 100 yard target? Is a slightly larger objective diameter worth the price increase? I'm a little lost here.

700 versions - there a reason to buy any other versions of the 700 than the regular SPS? Such as the detachable magazine one?

Accessories - bipod or tripod? Think I'd prefer shooting prone than a table. What might I have to expect to have the rifle sighted in, and for some lessons?

Thanks in advance for any opinions.