New 1973 M-66- Occasional spark in the face, problem or nothing?

JRiggs

Hi,

Recently some of you may remember my post about my vintage, unfired model 66 revolver I picked up last weekend. Well, its no longer unfired! This is by far the most accurate revolver I've ever used. Just one thing, I fired about 70 rounds through it, and maybe a half a dozen or so times, I felt a VERY slight spark, like a hot pin prick, hit my cheek. Nothing major by any means. Ammo used was Federal Hydra Shok .357 130 gr JHP, and Remington-UMC 158 gr .38 LRN. It happened with both loads. Like I said, this only happened about 5 or so times out of 70 rounds fired, and was hardly noticeable. Im new to revolvers, so is this normal or is there a slight problem? I wouldnt think a new, vintage 1973 S&W would have a problem, but you guys are much more experienced than I so I thought I would ask.

I should probably add, I checked alignment by cocking the hammer, and shining a light at the back of the cylinder. All the charge holes lined up nicely. The lock up on the revolver is nice and tight, and the forcing cone is smooth and even. Thanks for any help you guys can give me. J.R.

Have somebody hold a piece of paper loosely around the gun while you fire it. Use caution of course and have no part of anybody in front of the gun. If there are powder burns and spatter from both sides that is normal. If there is a lot more damage to the paper on one side then you are a tad out of time. Also look at the paper for little holes and possible tiny pieces of jacket metal or lead.

Even a new gun can come down the line with timing a tad off. Also check the cylinder to barrel gap with a feeler guage, shootin for .004 to .006", ok out to .008 or so. Tighter than .004 ok but may foul when gun is dirty.

Nuther thing to look for is the chamber mouths. Check em with a jacketed bullet, should be able to push one in from the front. If a bit tight, will cause leading and a little spitting.