Needed: some basic insights for an ignoramus

mure

Inactive
Dear folks,

I am writing a piece of fiction that involves the use of a revolver, but unfortunately, since I am from Britain, I have never even seen a real handgun and am very ignorant about the practicalities of using one. I would be very grateful indeed for any insights any of you might be able to offer, especially on the following questions:

What is the most common revolver that is easily carried and concealed?
How does it feel to fire such a gun? How much recoil and how much noise is there? Is there much muzzle flash and smoke?
Do revolvers have safety catches? If so, how do they work and are they easy to click on and off?
When firing the first shot, do you first pull back the hammer to cock it or do you just pull the trigger? How much of a pull is needed?

I know this is all way too basic stuff for you guys, but I would really appreciate any help!

Best wishes,

Mure

I'm a detective writer, so I'll have a shot at this, pardon the pun....

What is the most common revolver that is easily carried and concealed?

Probably a Smith & Wesson Chief's Special or a Colt Detective Special, both 2" barrelled snub-nose .38s. If you want to see what they look like, this is a Colt Detective Special:

Colt_38_DS.jpg

and this is a Smith:

m36ls.jpg

How does it feel to fire such a gun? How much recoil and how much noise is there? Is there much muzzle flash and smoke?