Need some Makarov advice please

o-town

I live in Florida and recently obtained a CCW permit. The only pistol I own is the HS2000 9mm Luger. This gun is great and will work great for Winter carry. However, I am looking for a gun that is thinner in the butt where the end of the magazine is. You can see an imprint of the HS through a loose t-shirt while wearing shorts or jeans - I usually wear shorts in the summer. I want a pistol to wear IWB in the summer that is reliable and still has relatively good take down power (I need to feel confident in an unsafe situation arises). I am a college student, so cost is also a factor here. I've been reading posts about the bulgarian Makarovs and think this might be a good fit for me. Does anyone know how thick the Mak is compared to a gun like the HS2000 (www.hsarms.com)? If you don't think this is a good pistol for my situation, please give me some other suggestions. My last question is: Is it pronounced Mak as in Mack truck, or as in Mamma? Thanks for taking the time to read my post and helping me out.

jason

Makorovs are good solid guns at a good price. The oly down side is that there triggers are realy heavy. One other gun to look at in the same price is a PA63. They are a PPK copy with an alloy frame and are available in .380 and 9X18 and
about the same price.

I will look at that also, do you recommend the 9X18 or the 380, which has more stopping power, thanks for the reply and keep'em coming

Jason

I don"t own a Makarov, but I would love to have one like those shown in this months American Handgunner. They look and shoot just like a Sig P210!

o, balistically, the 9X18 Makarov round and the 9X17 .380 round are very close. There's a small advantage in some loads for the Makarov, I think? There is good defensive ammo available for both--i.e. Cor-Bon, etc. There is more variety of ammo available for the .380, if that matters.