need scope ideas for Savage 10FP rifle

Nate

Inactive
I will be purchasing a Savage 10FP Tactical .308 soon, and I'm totally new to scopes. I would like some ideas (specifics please) on inexpensive/quality scopes (if there is such a thing) to put on it. My budget for a scope is $225. I know Leupold is one of the best, but my checkbook simply will not allow for such a purchase. I only plan on using this rifle for long-range target shooting/plinking (probably 300 yards and up eventually). I'd like something that has adjustable magnification, and a mil dot reticle if possible (or a duplex). So, out of the cheapy brands, what do you guys suggest for best bang for the buck? I might be ordering the gun through Wal-mart so any scopes they carry would be helpful.

One in particular that I think would "look nice" is the rubber coated Tasco that they put on the "Delta" AR-15's. Would this be something that would work well for my needs (300 yards plus)?

Thanks again,
-Nate....

Nate;

If you want a MilDot AND adjustable power the only option IMO is to get one of the new Springfields. The MilDot is on a focal plane that allows it to always subtend a Mil at any power. If these scopes had been out when I was in the marked for this type of scope I would have gotten it instead of my Leupold Mark-4.

Most of the other adjustable power scopes with MilDots have to be on a certain power setting to have them subtend correctly.

------------------
Schmit, GySgt, USMC(Ret)
NRA Life, Lodge 1201-UOSSS
"Si vis Pacem Para Bellum"

I just put a Tasco 6 x 24 World Class Target/Silhouette, matte black, fine crosshair with 1/8 min dot (Model # TS624X44DS) on my Colt AR15 HBAR Target Competition model. You can score your targets (see 22 cal holes) thru the scope at 300 yards! Bright, sharp, crisp with 1/8 min click adjustable target knobs and two sunshades - of course adjustable objective - all within your price range.

I've been using Tasco's for 20 years and haven't had a bad one yet!