Need recommendations, duck gun

surg_res

I'm 4 years new to duck hunting (lifelong hunter of most other animals, and long time rifle collector and enthusiast), and learning pretty quickly that this sport is miserably abusive on hardware. I'm looking for a solid recommendation on a durable duck gun, 12 ga, 28-30" bl, able to digest any load (2-3/4 to 3.5"). My budget is $2500, no preference on pump v. semi-auto, more interested in something camo-dipped synthetic that I can depend on but not be afraid to use as a paddle for my canoe. If you have field experience, your opinion is appreciated!

I've been shooting a Benelli SBE for three years, great gun, but there are plenty of options given your budget. Benelli, Beretta, Winchester SX series, Browning Silver, all are very dependable auto loaders if you go that route.

I recommend the Winchester SX3. I have tried the benelli and it just kicks too hard esp with 3 1/2s. The gas guns help a lot with the recoil. I really like the SX3 because it is light. Depending on how you hunt that can mean a lot.I also don't believe in all the hype about them being so reliable. I hunt with a guy that has a SBE and It jams just as much as my SX3. Most of the problems with both guns are the ammo that gets dirty/wet. The gas system of the SX3 really does not get very dirty at all. Almost all the fouling is in the receiver where any semi auto will gather it. I purposely don't clean during the off months when shooting clays to see just how dirty it will get before it jams or malfunctions. Never had that happen.