- Bolt action
- Stainless barrel and action
- synthetic stock
- 223/5.56
- relatively light weight preferred, if possible
- 20 inch barrel (or 18 maybe)
- no iron sights required
- prefer a used rifle
- heavy barrel would be Ok, but standard barrel preferred.
- prefer it to be very accurate, so if that means heavy barrel, Ok.

Preferred maker would be Remington, Winchester, Ruger, Weatherby, CZ, Tikka, Sako. Not interested in Savage (no offense intended). I want a real shooter. What do you have that fits my specs listed above, shoots extremely well, and that you would recommend? Thanks.

Off the top of my head My first choice would be a CZ 527 bolt action carbine. I have one in 7.62x39mm and it shoots fine. They also make one in .223, but I have no experience with that model. The gun is trim, 18.5 barrel, wood stock and fine balance. Check them out when you can.

I do have a Winchester Model 70 VH (Varmint) in 223. It is a very heavy bull barrel gun, but a real 500 yard squirrel killer, if your eyes can handle the optics of that distance. It is an amazing rifle also, but needs to be carried by a grandson, in my case.

A Tikka Hunter or T3 Lite should be very nice for hunting. They're guaranteed to shoot 1" or better, but my .243 Win, T3 Lite shoots 3/8" with handloads and that's without doing any work besides adjusting the trigger with the supplied hex wrench. I suspect a .223 Rem would shoot at that well with some factory loads.

Picher, that T3 lite stainless looks like just what I need - stainless, light weight, accurate. Thanks for the suggestion. I might want to rethink the caliber. Maybe I'll sell my Ruger 77 Compact in 260 and get the T3 in 260. The Ruger is great and really light and easy to handle, but I'd like a bit longer barrel and I can get the T3 with a 20 inch barrel.