need Mauser info

BLUE HORNET

Inactive
I am new to the Mauser collecting hobby so have patience with my "rookie" questions.
I recently purchased a Mauser at a gun show but I'm not sure of the history of this particular gun. It says.....Modelo 1912-61 nato on the top, on the side it says.....waffenfabrik Steyr Austria .It has a 4 digit serial no. (that matches the stock but not the bolt ) The guy I bought it off of said it was rebareled to 308 win. in the 60's (The 61 nato stamping on top of the reciever) It has a straight bolt & 2 stage trigger. The bore is nice and a 308 no-go gauge did not close in it.I found some info on Mausers in some of my old coppies of the American Rifleman (yes I'm a NRA member) but no mention of the 1912.
Was this gun made in 1912 or is that just the model no. or both?
If I want to sporterize a Mauser 98 which ones are the best to start out with,what do I want to stay away from ?
Is there a better source of supplies / accessories than the gun parts corp. (numrich arms ) ?
What book(s) can I buy for more info ?
Thanks, BLUE HORNET

The Modello 1912 was the designation applied by the using nation, so it is not a Mauser model designation, which is why you could not find it in the books. Since you don't say which country it came from, I am not sure if it is an 1898 action or not. If it cocks on opening and has a safety lug under the bolt, it is an 1898 action and a good place to start for a sporter. Steyr made excellent rifles.

Unless you want to stick with the original caliber or something in the same pressure range, avoid the pre-1898 (cock on closing) Mausers. Some of these were also converted to .308 (7.62 NATO), but are not as strong as they should be for that round.

Brownells (www.brownells.com) is a good place to start for sporterizing parts and accessories.

HTH

Jim