Need Help with Fat Bullet

psualumni

Hello all! I am also new to reloading, but not brand new. I stated about a year ago out of necessity reloading custom subsonic cartridges for supressor use. I recently bought a 300BLK and now am tying my hand at making 300BLK from .223. I have got making the cases down pat. I am able to run complete brass threw the chamber of my rifle without an issue. HOWEVER, when I make a complete cartridge I stated to run into sticking rounds that are hard to cycle. I smoked a dummy round and found that the bullet itself is sticking, so much so that a tiny ring of brass has been scraped off and hangs on the side of the round. I would appreciate if someone would point me in the right direction and tell me what I am doing wrong. Thank you! I have attached a picture of what is going on.

Attachments

• 20201229_153959.jpg
    20201229_153959.jpg
    354.5 KB · Views: 85
While we wait for other responses, can you provide more information?

• You formed the brass from .223. What are the ID and OD of the neck?
  • Whose bullets are you using?
  • What's the OD of the bullet?
  • What's your cartridge overall length?

First blush I don't begin to see a normal bullet there. Looks pretty crude.

Second is it looks to be way too big for the chamber and there is a lot of ripping and tearing going on pushing a shaved piece down towards the base.

Either its the wrong bullet (large than .308) or its not a 300 chamber.

Well I would hope its a 30 caliber bullet. It a Berry's 300 AAC 220gr (.308) Blackout Spire Point. I made the brass from Federal head stamp .223. Case OD at neck is .319. ID is .308. Brass is .011 thick. Bullet OD is .306. OAL is 2.150 as recommended by Berry's website. 99.9% sure the rifle is chambered in 300BLK as that is what Smith and Wesson stamped it, and I have ran a box of factory Federal with no problems.