Need advice on maintenance

cwalker3

I'm pretty new to shooting and guns in general and I was wondering if I am maintaining my guns correctly. I currently have a S & W 357 and a Marlin lever-action 357.
After shooting, I swab the barrels and cylinder with Hoppes #9. I brush the barrels and then swab with patches until clean. This seems to take forever. I go through at least 30 patches per gun. After I get a few clean patches, I coat all surfaces with a thin coat of Hoppes oil.
First, am I cleaning correctly? Second, is there something better than Hoppes? Third, will the #9 harm the finish on the stock of the Marlin or the rubber grips on the S & W
Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give. By the way, this is the best firearms discussion site I have come across. Good info, no bull****, and few flames.

Sounds to me like you are doing one heck of a job! As a rule, you should not let any solvent stay on your stock or grips for any length of time. You should also dry the bore of solvent before oiling. Keep up the good work and enjoy yourself and your firearms.
Good Luck & Good Shooting
Hank

Couldn't have said it better Hank. I do use Gun Scrubber down the barrel first and for those really tight places. One other thing I do, I keep silicon gun cloths handy, Whenever guns are handled they get wiped down before going back in the safe.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year :)

------------------
Help Stamp Out Gun Ignorance.

[This message has been edited by loknload (edited December 26, 1999).]

"Shooter's Choice" is a good solvent...seems to (for me) work a bit better in my 10/22 on de-leading. But, I adore the smell of Hoppes'...for a long time when I was small I really thought Hoppes' was my Dad's aftershave...true.
I use both. Also, always make sure you run a patch thru before you fire it the next time.

------------------
"Quis custodiet ipsos custodes" RKBA!