Need advice on different things.

sundance43.5

Hi everyone. I'm relatively new to the shooting world, but jumped in head first. I'm looking for my first handgun, which will be a revolver. I need advice on 3 things:

1) I've narrowed my choices down to a S&W 686 or a Ruger GP100 series, so, what's your personal take? I won't be using much, besides commercial loads.

2) Should I get a 6 or 4 in. barrel? I'll be doing some hunting with it, but it won't be at more than 50 yds.

3) I want to buy a used one, so what should I look at at a gun show, if I find one?

Thanks in advance!

Chris

Of the two revolvers you mention, both are excellent guns. I would choose the Smith & Weson because it fits my hand better than the Ruger and has a smoother action.
The 6 inch barrel is slightly better for hunting, but I think that the four inch is more versatile for all round use.
In a used revolver check the lock up as the cylinder revolves and locks back into the firing position. If this is loose, I would pass and look for another gun.

Out of the box I can say that the S&W trigger is smoother than the Ruger. Overall, I would go with the Ruger. I just prefer it over the S&W. The Ruger can have a trigger job done on it to smooth it out. You can also take any kind of political stance you want with this. Both companies have had their fair share of problems.

The Ruger just seems to be a bit more rugged. I've got the 6" model and like it a whole lot.

S&W = 'May' have better trigger. Nice gun.

Ruger = Easier to dismantle/clean/tune, more rugged and durable, easier to swap sights.

Both can be extremely accurate. Both are tough. I own two stainless 4" GP100's because I prefer them.

I suggest the Ruger.........

Do you have a rifle or shotgun already? Do you plan to get any other guns?