need advice for first 10mm auto pistol

agent00

After many years I want to go back to pistol shooting.

This time I am interested in something more exotic (at least by Austrian standards) the 10mm auto.

But which 10mm auto pistol would you recommend for a newbie in that caliber?

The main usage is target/fun shooting and home defense. Civilians cannot carry guns so it does not matter if the pistol is going to be a bit bigger.

So far I have seen a Glock 20 and sig p220 at my local gun store. But I am sure I can also get other models via backorder.

Which one would you recommend for a new 10mm auto shooter? The Sig, the Glock, or a totally different model?

I am new to high-power pistol shooting. I only have used a 9mm Glock 17 many years ago at the range. And I also have a bit of experience with shooting a 357-mag revolver.

I wanted a 10mm and decided to get the GLOCK primarily based on availability and price in my area. While it may not be the most exotic 10mm around it is very reliable.

There’s plenty of good choices out there, but I chose the Springfield XD-M OSP and mounted a Votex Venom. It’s been a lot of fun to shoot.

9d8c9f02de7c13b64fcd5cc949fc9bea.jpg

There are a few 1911 platforms in 10mm available plus the guns listed above, Glock, Springfield, and Sig. S&W also makes a revolver model 610 and the M&P in 10mm and I don't know if they are still making them but Tanfoglio also made a 10mm.

I enjoy shooting my S&W 1006 and 1076 for my 10mm needs but have often thought about a Glock so that I can put my Smiths away.
Really it comes down to what type of action you prefer?

Thanks for the replies so far.

@smee78 There is nothing wrong with the Glock System. I never had any issues with the Glock 17. But I am quite tempted to get a 1911 plattform in 10mm because I have always eben fascinated by the 1911 colt.