My muzzle-loading inquiries are bearing fruit, but also more questions!!

Pond James Pond

I have found a shop that may be able to ship a muzzle loader to me.

I have found a muzzle-loader rifle that I like the look of and could potentially afford (Pedersoli Country Hunter Rifle Flintlock in .50 cal). I am going to write to the company to confirm that indeed it is based on a pre-1870 design as required by my local laws.

And now I have found a supplier of muzzle-loader ball projectiles!! The question now is what size do I need for the .50 cal Pepersoli above. Obviously, the answer is .50 cal, but I have also learnt since I started shooting that .38 is .357 and .44 is .429.

So what is the exact size that I would need in a .50cal muzzle-loader?

The supplier in question stocks .450, .454, .457 and .464. That is it.
Would any of those suit or are they for a .45cal M-L?
(I hope they do, because that is about the only Pedersoli I can afford on that website!!)

Also what other bits would I need before I can fire a shot? (experience has told me that I can't assume I can find stuff, so buying a gun before I am sure of a supply of consumables is folly.)

I've read about bits called patches, then there's the flint, and of course the powder (goodness knows where I'm going to find that!!)

Last edited:
I used a Lee .490 round ball mold for my 50s, unlike blackpowder pistols, rifles use a patch around the ball, so the ball has to be slightly smaller than the bore, patches can be found in different thicknesses.

Pedersoli says to use a .490 round ball. The rifle is pre 1870. Also you have
a very fast twist for round ball. So keep powder charges on the light side say
30 to 50 grs.

Right, so far I know that choosing the rifle will be quite tricky and price won't be the only consideration if I need to factor in the twist rates too!!

On top of that, unless I can find .490 balls, I may find I can't afford the rifles that I could buy balls for!