My letter to the editor

Correia

For those of you who don't know I'm a college student at USU. Every morning I read our student newspaper, The Statesman" It is really a crappy newspaper, for such a conservative university we have a very left leaning paper.
The frontpage article today was about how the university should ban the carrying of concealed handguns on campus. The article sucked, it went on for a whole page, and didn't even have one opposing view point. There were lots of statistics, but not one source given for any of them. My favorite statistic was how we are 43 times more likely to hurt ourselves with a handgun than use it in self defense. Then they went on to quote a bunch of students who had no clue.
This is my response, it would have been longer but I was limited to 350 words.

I would like to take the opportunity to respond to the article "Utah schools worry about gun laws". I also worry about gun laws; I worry that we pass needless gun laws in order to feel safer, and in so doing put ourselves in greater danger than before. In the article there is discussion over whether or not concealed weapons should be allowed on campus, it is inferred that by banning guns at USU we would somehow be safer. I disagree.
All across this nation we have "gun free school zones". It is pretty obvious that the only people who do not bring their guns to school are the people who obey the law. A gun free zone is nothing but a hunting preserve of the innocent and helpless, waiting to be victimized by those who would use violence for their own evil ends. Shouldn't we learn from that example?