My first revolver... Info needed!

J33Nelson

Hello everyone.
This is my first time posting on this board since I do not own any revolvers. I do, however, want to add a revolver to my gun inventory and there is a Big Gun Show starting tomorrow where I will have a great opportunity to buy my first revolver. The only experience I have with a revolver is shooting my Father's Ruger Bearcat that he has had since he was a kid. After researching a little I think I am leaning towards a Ruger GP 100 .357mag or a Taurus 66 .357mag or the Taurus 627 .357mag. I would like to know any opinions on these firearms from people who have more experience than myself..

Thanks in advance

Sig Pro

Last edited:
Barrel Length

Some more questions!!

What are the pro's and con's of the 4inch barrel for the Ruger and Taurus models and what are the pro's and con's of the 6 inch barrels for the Ruger and Taurus models??

Thanks again!

Sig Pro

Other than a slight velocity increase,i see no need for a 6" barrel unless you want to look like your some kind of tough guy or chick.I have a Rossi 972 with a 6" barrel and an EAA Windicator with a 4'' barrel and both are .357 mag.The EAA's are greatly underrated and a great buy.Having said that i think you wouldn't go wrong with a Ruger,Rossi,or Taurus.

Any three of those guns would be a fine choice, though I have had no experience with the Taurus.

Regarding barrel length, with the .357, 4" is fine. You should try to handle both lengths and see which points better for you. The 6" will have the longer sight radius, and the 4" will be a bit handier.

Good luck.. ;)

But the 4" Ruger, have a gunsmith slick the trigger, and you'll never have to buy another large revolver again as long as you or the next three generations of your family live. Then buy another small one for your pocket!

IMNSHO

You will be MOST SATISFIED owning the Ruger KGP-141 (heavy-lug 4" stainless adjustable sights 357).

Perfect revolver.