My 1,000 Yard Mission

Tangentabacus

For the last couple years I've been entertaining the idea of long LONG rang shooting. I've made hits at like 500ish yards but never really tried anything more. I'm no expert rifleman so I am looking for any tips or suggestions.

What I got to work with:
Rifle is a Remington 700 SPS Tactical (Edit: Actually figured out it's probably an SPS Varmint? It's got the heavy barrel) chambered in .308
I have a Center Point... Uh... This > http://www.walmart.com/ip/Centerpoi...Adjustable-Objective-Adventure-Class/14234831
I also have a harris bipod on bottom too.

This set up has gotten me pretty good shots on a consistent basis, but I'm not sure it's capable of 1,000 yards, however I don't know many people with this rifle either...

Ye wise men of TFL... Bestow upon me your knowledge. Should I "glass" the rifle? Will this rifle work for what I want to do? Just any ideas in general.

Last edited:
Don't do anything to the rifle until you figure out if its broke or not.

If it isn't broke, don't fix it.

How does it group now???? If you can keep it under 2 MOA then hold off on doing anything to the rifle.

I don't know about the scope you mentioned. If it holds a zero and has positive clicks for elevation and windage, then it should get you there.

You need to find ammo. Something along the lines of 175 SMKs or 178 Amax. going about 2600 FPS or better. It has to remain super sonic (faster then the speed of sound) at 1000 yards.

Run the ammo through a chronograph and put the number in one of the free ballistic program. (Berger Bullets has a good free program on their website).

I don't know about bipods and such, I don't use them. I don't like them for personal reasons. I use a sling un supported or use a sling and rest my forearm on a back pack or something. Thats up to you and what style of shooting you want.

Get a good zero. Figure your "come ups" to 1000 yards and shoot it.