Moving a Handgun

uFu

Inactive
Hi, newbie here. I'm hoping folks here can help me out with a bit of advice.

Several years ago I moved from PA to NY. Since I was expecting to come back to PA, I moved a bunch of stuff into storage (in PA), including my handgun. I'm currently in the process of moving from NY to Seattle, and I'm trying to figure out the best way to get my gun there.

We're doing a 2-week road trip, and I'd prefer not to have it in the trunk the whole time.

I spoke with a Seattle-area FFL, who said he'd accept shipment, but could only give it to someone who'd been a resident for 90 days. I suppose I could wait, or "sell" it to my girlfriend (who's already out there).

The other issue is that he said he could only accept shipment from another FFL, and I'm wondering if an FFL in PA would have issues with the whole thing, since I'm no longer a PA resident.

For that matter, am I even legal to transport the gun from the storage unit to the FFL (locked and in the trunk obviously)?

Anyone have any thoughts?

Thanks!

in PA moving the pistol from storage to an FFL you good to go as long as it is unloaded and separate from the ammo. As far as I know you can ship it from a PA FFL but I would be sure the FFL you have in mind will do the transfer before you do it. They will charge you a fee as it will need to go into his book. and all that paperwork.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe it is legal to ship to yourself. If you have an address in WA you might check into it.

Someone correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe it is legal to ship to yourself. If you have an address in WA you might check into it.

I believe that only applies to long guns. I may be mistaken, though.