Mounting scope on mosin nagant.

Peptobismol9

Its a 91/30 With a round receiver. I dont have alot of money. Im at a 70 dollar budget, But I looked at a mosin nagant 91/30 pu with a scope, and fell in love. I want to put a scope on it that stays close if not exact to the original design. I would also need to know how to install it because I have no experience in drilling and tapping. If this fails I might just sell my NEF 243. I think I could probally get 500 if I sell the scope too. And grab one from the local Gun store. They want 599 dollars for it and Im really broke.
So to sum it up.
1. Where do I get the scope?
2. How do I install it?
3. Would it be worth it to trade the NEF?
Any help would be appreciated cause My parents just arent into helping me out with this stuff. I have Had my own personal sucess in firearm modifications, specifically with mag feeds, but 0 experience with mounting, or buying scopes. I Do not under any circumstances want to change stocks, or place plastic on the rifle.

Last edited:
From personal experience I would put off placing a scope on your MN and just shoot open sights. I bought a scope/mount kit off http://www.combathunting.com/Products-MOSIN_NAGANT.html . My goal was to keep the gun in as close to original condition as possible, so I went with scout scope kit. It was easy enough to remove the rear sight leaf and replace it with the mount. Took it to the range and it looked like I had shot a shotgun at the target.

Lessons learned:
1. Get some loctite *sp for the screws.
2. Make sure all the screws on the mount are tight. I missed the middle one on the mount and I had problems all day with the mount pitching up or down.
3. The scope will change how you hold the rifle (and bruise you accordingly)

Second time out I thought I fixed all the problems mentioned above.
1. mount still came loose
2. accuracy diminished every time I shot a few rounds.