Mossberg 500/590

Lightsped

I am new to shotguns, and I am looking for a self defense/combat style shotgun. I have a few questions about Mossberg 500/590 line of guns.
1. What is the difference between the 500 and 590? Why is the 590 roughly 100-150 bucks more?
2. Is it possible to get a 590 with a 18.5 inch barrel?
3. Are there places to buy shorter barrels, pistol grips, and pistol foregrips for the 590? I am going for the SPAS-12 look. :)
Thanks

1. Not sure on this one, but I believe the 590 usually sports a heat shield, bayonet lug, longer magazine. There may be other differences.

2. Not sure on this one either. All the 590s I have seen have 20" barrels.

3. You can get all kinds of nice shotgun accessories from Bushmaster Firearms (http://www.bushmaster.com) or Cheaper Than Dirt (http://www.cheaperthandirt.com).

HTH,

Justin

------------------
Justin T. Huang, Esq.
late of Kennett Square, Pennsylvania

Go to www.mossberg.com you'll most of your answers there. Also, do a search. This question has been asked many times before. Don't limit yourself to the 500/590 either. Look inside most police cruisers and you'll find a Remington 870. Either will serve you well.

the 500 w/20" barrel is an 8shot. the 590 with 20" barrel is a 9shot, hence the 5"9"0 designation. i don't think mossy makes an 18.5" barrel for the 590. they do make one for the 590DA though. the price difference is tor the one extra round and the bayonet lug. you also need to find out if the 590 is a plain 590 or 590A1. these are different and could add to the price being higher. the stocks for 500/590 are interchangeable.

ned

1. Nedfig's answer sounds good to me.

2. They do make one; it has a five-shot magazine.

3. Not shorter barrels than 18.5", but pistol grips and stocks are readily available for both models. 590A1 barrels are thicker, and do not interchange with the other two models.