Modern Gauge choices

ZVP

I bought a 20 Ga Stoger Uplander to use as a HD/ Field Gun. Origonal idea was to chop the barrels etc to mod it but it was such a pretty, well balanced and fitted gun that I couldn't do it. Glad I didn't!
Having bought it from a Pawn shop, unfortunatelly it did not come with the 12 or 28 Ga extra set of barrels , only the 20 which proved to be a great shooting set! Screw-in chokes added versitility but I am still learning the origonal ser. I think they are Mod/ IC ( not sure what the stamped dots mean?),
With my new intrest in Doubles I have noted a definate movement toward the smaller gauges of 20, 28 and 410 these days Especally the 20/28 combos. I don't have any experience with the 28 but have read some pretty glowing reviews of the gauge for all around shooting! It throws only a slightly smaller charge of shot than a 20 and seems to pattern quite well for many uses.
Being a 12 GA advocate forever, the purchase of a 20 Ga was done because of a damaged left sholder and the hope of lessened recoil. Well I sure got that!
Th further describe the little Double, it's an English cut buttstock which fits me like a glove and seems to help my trigger hand move the slight amount needd to fire both triggers very easilly and so nautral feeling! Having owned one Savage 12 GA Double in the pasr, I swore off doubles because I couldn't hit a thing. This Uplander on the otherhand, fits me perfectly and the barrels cross at a pertfrct point for EASY hits! I don't know how to describe the way it's fitted but everything is centered perfectlly for me!
You can immediatelly tell the difference between 12 and 20 ga shot loads but with the sure hit capibility of the little 20, it dosen't matter much. I really appreciate the soft recoil! I am just now trying different loads and find the 20 Ga Phesant load to be a powerfull, long renge choice. The light target loads are a dream and even the smaller 6&7 shot loads carry well.