MK1-MOA reticle - what am I doing wrong

ncrypt

Caveat up front - I've never used a reticle like this before so it is new to me.

I put a 3x9x40 Nikon P Tactical scope with MK1-MOA reticle on my 7mm Magnum rifle to try shooting at a little longer distances. I know it's a low end scope but the reviews seem good and the price was right for me.

I zero'ed it at 50 yards. No problems here.

I was using my hand loads that consistently give my around 3000 fps with 150 grain Nosler partition. I used my chronograph today to be sure.

The problem comes in when I went to use the hash marks to shoot at a target 250 yards away. I used the Spot On site that Nikon provides to help you to determine bullet impact at each hash. According to the site, the first mark is 246 yards. So I went to 246 yards (checked with my Sig Range Finder) and took a shot.

The bullet was 8 inches low and this was using the first mark, which is WAY off. Using the Shooters Calculator I should only be about 5 inches low at 250 yards. Given that each mark is 2 (edit - mistakenly had 1) MOA, its seems that the Nikon site had it right as well.

BTW - this is a second focal plane scope so I had it zoomed at 9x for all shots.

Does anyone have any idea what I'm doing wrong? I'm baffled.

I only took two shots and both shots hit around 8 inches low.

Thanks for your help

Last edited:
How did you have the rifle rested? Did you notice any shadows or darkness on the edges of the scope? What is the height over bore of the scope and does that match the ballistic calculator you used?

I don’t think two shots is going to provide enough data to diagnose the problem; but we can guess.

You have a 3-9X40 scope. No one makes a 3X9X40 scope.