Mini-14 or is 30-30 good enough?

Bastage

Inactive
This is my first message here so please bear with me. . .

I am in the market for a new rifle. I have been shooting for over 15 years so I am not really new to the game, but it has been mostly handguns and .22 rifles. I am interested in this rifle mainly for home defense, but maybe some plinking from time to time.

Would a lever 30-30 serve my purposes better than the Mini-14, or are all the gun magazines right when they espouse the virtues of the .223 rifle for home defense?

Advantages and disadvantages of both?

bastage

Um, I'd say a 30-30 is fine for what it's worth, but when talking about being attacked by people with para-military style weapons, then the 30/30 has two problems.

1)It's not Semi-Auto. You really want to have semi-auto for defense against other semi-autos. High Capacity and quick reloading is probably a real advantage in a fire fight...at least if you consider the history of rifles in warfare it is.

2) 30/30 as a round is even more powerful than the AK round (762x39)...it may be a bit overkill. I mean, I'm all for more power, but I've shot AK and .223 and the less recoil, the easier it is to aim your subsquent shots. IT'S VERY IMPORTANT TO AIM YOUR SHOTS.

My Suggestion is a .223 or 762x39 Carbine with a muzzle break. Go get one of the last few AK clones availible on the U.S. market now. The Maadi is Ok, or even one of the new restricted capacity Hungarians SA 2000's made by FEG...either that or Get a Bushmaster Shorty with the "AK" muzzle Break, if you can. (Around $750)

If you want a larger caliber, get the VEPR in .308 ! It's built on the Russian RPK reciever...IN RUSSIA ! Also restricted to 10 round capacity, but .308 is really grrrreat.

Anyway...
Good Luck my Freind