Military---freqent moves and a NFA Trust?

Mrgunsngear

I'm in the military and debating setting up a NFA trust. Question is---since I move every 2-3 years, can I set up a trust here in SC and have it move with me to NC, TX, ect...?

Just a quick response...

All transfers of ownership of registered NFA firearms must be done through the federal NFA registry. The NFA also requires that transport of NFA firearms across state lines by the owner must be reported to the ATF.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Firearms_Act

Sorry but I am not a lawyer...

But common search found this above.

I'm sure there is more to it then just reporting. You have to keep in mind that every state also has further "restrictions" For example right now in Washington State... one can own a NFA item but cannot shoot them in Washington. This is changing as of Friday, July 22, 2011 HB 1016 will make it so folks with suppressors can shoot them too.

Have you checked on the states what and if they have any other restrictions?

This link you can look up by state:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gun_laws_in_the_United_States_(by_state)

Here's a link for transporting NFA items across state lines:
http://www.guntrustlawyer.com/form20.html

Good luck!

Thanks for the info. I realize I may not always be able to take it with me (I'll just leave them at my parents house if I get assigned to a state where I can't own them.

I recently drafted a NFA trust and my client was US Army who travels frequently. He added his wife and two adult children as Co-Trustees which allowed them to also legally possess the items in his absence.

Check me on this, The Law, but I believe a trust has to be established under the laws of the state that it is in and is considered like a corporation registered in that state.