Making Paper Cartridges work with wads

hunter64

I am a newbie to the fine art of the Holy Black and revolvers so please excuse the ignorance. I have been making paper cartridges out of cigarette paper with good results. When I get to the range I break the cartridge off in the cylinder just below the ball and insert a lubed wad and then ram the ball. At first I was putting the whole cartridge into the cylinder and then topping it off with Crisco and it gets messy quickly, hence the use of felt wad. The problem with the wad is the lube on it, it bleeds thru the cigarette paper and in short order it makes the cartridge fall apart. Has anyone tried something to keep the lubed wad from doing this? I was thinking about a small strip of wax paper around the wad to keep the lube away from the roll paper but I am unsure if the wax paper would gum up the cylinder when fired. Any thoughts?

I think you should look at reformulating your wads, either that or just buy some commercially available ones so it doesn't keep you up at night.
If you must make your own try using beeswax in with your crisco, at least 70% beeswax

okiefarmer

Hope I'm not reading this wrong, but you have the entire contents in the cig paper and the lubed wad is bleeding through. Is it absolutely neccessary to have the lubed wad included in this "cartiridge"? Can you not carry it in a separate little bag, close at hand? You have solved the field measuring part with the "cartridges" you have made, but surely it wouldn't be too inconvenient to keep the wads in the "other" pouch. Just a suggestion.

My paper cartridges are just the powder, being that the Colt's are a little bulkier than the Remington's making the whole contained powder & ball load insert into the chamber all at once, I just insert a powder load "my cartridge" then wad "if I use it" then Ball.

to me it's just as easy.