making a suppressor

sjohnson111

Inactive
i've started looking for information on suppressors. plenty of information out there but i have one major confusion. since the atf fee is for a "transfer," what are the rules for a hand built suppressor? where would i find this info?
i've been a machinist for forty years so building a quality suppressor is not difficult for me. actually they are very simple devices.
i live in texas where owning a suppressor is legal.

A form 4 is an “Application for Tax Paid Transfer and Registration of Firearm” what you are looking for is a form 1 “Application to Make and Register a Firearm” (type of firearm is silencer).

You can find it here http://www.titleii.com/TitleII.com/Forms.html

The most important "rule" is not to start before you get have approved paper work in hand.

It should also be noted that once you make your suppressor, the ATF frowns on you doing additional work on it. For that you must take it to a "licensed manufacturer"... That means no making new baffles or end caps or having extra baffles sitting around.

Hi, Willie,

Do you happen to know a source for that? AFAIK, once I own a registered silencer (suppressor), I can repair it or adjust it if I want, just as I can repair a legally owned and registered machinegun.

Jim

Do not use the ATF form 1 from the title ii website. It is the old version and might not be accepted in the future. Go here; http://www.atf.gov/forms/5000.htm#firearms to get the ATF forms you need, including the form 1 and form 5330.20. The $200 tax is paid anytime an unlicensed person such as yourself makes any title 2 firearm, including the AOW's, which are just $5 to transfer after they are made.

Make sure you have a good design, it can not be modified or parts replaced once the silencer is finished, unless it is sent to an FFL/SOT class 2 manufacturer for repair or replacement of parts. Even a licensed manufacturer can not make repairs that lengthen the tube.