Makarov 9mm...good or junk?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Buhma

Inactive
I have seen alot of these inexpensive guns at gun shows and was wondering if they are any good. Opinions?

Had a Makarov .380 and loved it! Extremely reliable. Well worth the inexpensive cost.

------------------
DAH BIG DAWG'S ON DUTY

I think it depends on when and where it was made.

The East German Makarovs are considered excellent guns, with highly refined, smooth actions. The Bulgarian, Romanian, Chinese, and some Russian guns aren't the same quality.

(Please understand that these are not the standard 9mms, but *9mm Makarov*, which is a smaller cartridge that is slightly less powerful but slightly more expensive than a standard 9mm Luger/Parabellum round.)

I hope we get more responses on this thread. I've been shooting a 9 mm Makarov. I'll find out where it was made exactly.

I'm just learning to shoot but have tried quite a few hand guns thus far. .44's, 45's, .357's

The Makarov has been my least favorite. I guess for the money, it would get the job done as far as home defense. If I were working law enforcement, it would not be my choice.
I guess it depends on what you want to use it for Buhma.

------------------
The whole secret of a successful life is to find out what it is one's destiny to do, and then do it.
HENRY FORD, "Success," Forum, October 1928

I have a Russian Makarov in 9X18. I think it is an excellent buy for a carry gun if price is a big consideration. The 9X18 is essentially a .380 with slightly more power, but isn't comparable to the 9X19. All that I have known about have proven to be very reliable. No, it wouldn't be my choice as a duty gun, but I have never felt handicapped when I carried it. Jerry