Machine Guns

HAHAHahahaha:D

Why would you want to complain about MG's? It's like saying "Hey, let's complain about AR's and AK's like we always do!".:D

I've never served, but I'll talk MG with you.:cool:

Ok, I'll play

I am former military, a former Small Arms Repairman. I worked on the M60, M73, M73A1, M219, M2HB, M85, and the new at the time M240 machineguns. Also the M16A1, M3/M3A1, the 1911A1, the M139 20mm automatic gun, the 90mm and 106mm recoiless rifles and the 81mm and 4.2in mortars. Also a couple of Winchester and Remington shotguns.

Here's a complaint; the M60 has poor design features. Not for nothing did we call it "the pig".

If you want to know what worked, and what didn't, what broke, and what didn't, just ask, and I'll try to dig up some details from the past to entertain and enlighten you.

Outside of my MOS, I have been a student of machine gun design and history for a while, and while I can't own them where I live, I can still read about them.

Do you have a copy of The Machine Gun by Col Chinn? This is a huge multi volume reference work, created for the Navy Dept. It cost a whole buch as books, but can be had on CD-ROM for under $20. If it isn't in there, it probably doesn't exist. Originally publised in the 50s, there have been several updates.

Im not saying i wana complain about all MG's but their are a lot of faulty designs out their i just wana see what some others opinions are

If you are going to exclude non-military, you're missing out on a LOT of people who own MG's.

But I'm no good as all my experience is WW2 and earlier anyway.

But I'm no good as all my experience is WW2 and earlier anyway