M1A Value??? Alternatives???

JimmyBCool

Hello all,

I am new to shooting (but hooked). I am enjoying my Colt .45s and AR15 a lot. So, I thought I would try out another rifle I bought years ago and had never fired. On doing a very little research (Fulton Arms web page) I am dismayed to find they think very little of the particular rifle I own based on manufacturer.

The rifle in question is a Fed Ord M1A .308 (preban) NIB never fired.

What I'm looking for are opinions on this rifle. Is it the piece of junk Fulton Arms believes? If so, how does one go about selling a rifle (not here - I won't sell a low quality weapon to those on this BBS). And what is the market value?

Assuming this rifle is inferior quality and I sell it, what .308 caliber rifles do you all recommend?

Thanks or any opinions.

James

Jimmy B. I'll give you ten bucks for it if we can find a FFL who will do the transfer!
Good Shooting, Hank

I worked on a Fed Ord M1 about two years ago. My instructor pointed out that the cast receiver had an inherent flaw (also found on many Springfield Armory guns too) in the bridge of the receiver.

The bridge is the part which cams the firing pin back when the gun isn't locked up. As a safety feature, it prevents the pin from slipping forward with sufficient energy and causing the gun to discharge when it isn't fully locked up. On the Fed Ord and on many Springfield Armory (not the US Govt Armory which made the M1 Garand) there was extra metal on the bridge.

While the Fed Ord worked, since the extra metal on the bridge was not removed, it could cause work hardening on the tail of the firing pin, inducing failure and subsequently a slam fire. While there are no documented incidences of this happening yet, the potential is there. BTW, Tom Reese of Springfield knows of this but I don't think they've done anything about it yet.

If you want a M14 type action, Smith Enterprise is about the best.