M1A/M14 CA Legal

• Thread starter Thread starter m3bullet
  • Start date Start date
M

m3bullet

I finally decided to purchase a Springfield Armory Loaded M1A, #MA9822. Being a Kalifornia resident, I must order the "muzzle brake" version to comply with the latest edict, I think it's #MA9822CA. Wholesalers to my local CA firearms dealer have no stock and claim Springfield has not begun shipping the CA legal version. Has anyone been able to purchase one of these elsewhere in CA?

Regards,

Dennis Neff

I saw one in a store here in San Antonio.

Halffast

------------------
"I say that big talk is worth doodly-squat." Granny Hawkins from the Outlaw Josey Wales

Try B&B Guns in Westminster (714)892-8881, they have a Hollywood store, too, don't know the #. Also try RNJ Guns (310)834-0999 or Gold Coast Trading (714)379-6818. Not worth the $1500+ price IMHO, hope you stocked up on mags.

m3bullet - I've also been checking out the M1A situation here in CA.

It appears that while the SA muzzle brake is BATF approved as a non-flash suppressor, the CA DOJ has yet to issue any such approval. And until they do...

Does this make sense? Not a whit. Is it, in fact, one large steaming pile of oompah? Absolutely.

I think I'll call SA and see what they have to say. In the meantime, I plan to get a nice M1 Garand. :)

Cliff

Hi Cliff-

my dealer had told me about the DOJ problem with what SA was claiming to be approved 2 months ago. But now he says that they are OK, and he has them in stock. So I am assuming that DOJ has opined.

If you call SA, can you let us know what you find out? Thanks in advance.

Saw several M1As for sale at the Anaheim gunshow today. One guy had a sign on standard M1As, saying that he would install the muzzle break prior to pick up. The price was about $1400.

I spoke with Lisa at Springfield Armory yesterday about the muzzle break question.