M1A/M-14 Rifle Rear Sights

Gregory Gauvin

I have an accurized Armscorp M14/M1A build that I have spent years in my free time building. Its got the works - Gene Barnett barrel, trigger job, unitized gas cylinder, padded handgaurds, extremely tight fitting rare (camo) Springfield stock (not bedded...yet), titanium gas piston, NM front sight, trigger job...etc. Other than the tight chamber on the barrel (I believe most Gene Barnett barrels were reamed to .308win minimum headspace tolerances) it fires beautifully, providing it is fed properly trimmed brass. 7.62 Nato rounds will chamber but not going to chance blowing a case apart from a out of battery condition. I had one Nato round mixed up in my 308 brass that didn't lock, and later found it to measure longer than spec.

I plan to outfit this rifle with a Leupold MK IV on a ARMS #18 mount, but wanted to dial in my irons before doing so.

My windage is spot on. I witnessed marked my sights (along with gas plug, etc). With my elevation dial cranked all the way down, rifle hits exactly POA/POI at 50 yards. Should be close to a 100y zero on a SR1 Target. I set my elevation dial to the corresponding mark.

My question is, my elevation dial bottoms out and stops. But when raising elevation (turning counterclockwise), the peep sight will eventually stop moving upwards, but the elevation drum will continue to click. Is this normal? Should MAX elevation have a stop as well on the elevation knob?