M1 search

Rome

I've been looking for an M1.
Before I posted this question, I searched this site and found a great post by Flyerm14 on 1/21/99 regarding the search for a good M1. Now I'm looking for one and would like to know why the situation seems to have changed so dramatically. I went to a 900 table gun show in Springfield, MA yesterday and couldn't find one single M1 for under $400. Most of them ran in the 600-800 range with quite a few over $1000. I was not prepared for this type of "stickershock"! Is it still possible to find a "reasonable" GI M1 out there or has the market just gone crazy? Springfield made over 6.6 million of these weapons and I can't believe what they were selling for at the show. As I continue my search, should I still be looking at a GI version? I'm new to rifles but have recently enjoyed match shooting with an AR15 and AK45 but want a much more "traditional" rifle and have always love the M1 design. Any help/infor will be apprecaited.
Rome

The shows that I have gone to i have never seen a m1 going for $400, not in years.....It could be I dont go to the right shows...most of them are always around &600....imo the best place to purchase one is through the civilian marksmenship program (cmp), .....the cost is around $400 for a svc grade rifle......the one I shoot now is capable of out shooting me...at 100yds will keeps them in the 10 ring, that is a svc grade M1........fubsy.

guess youve been out of it for awile.its going to cost you 600 to 800 to get one,you might want to consider finding a lower receiver and and building you a match rifle.it will be about the same price and much better.

Check the Shotgun News. I believe I have seen some M1s offered recently for @ $450 to $500, but I don't remember the condition.