M1 Garand vs Browning BAR in .308

thequickad

I decided to buy a semi-auto .308. But state restricts so cannot buy H&K or AR-10 can only buy M1 / M1A or Browning BAR or Remington. M1A is quite expensive and M1 seems to be around $1K. Browning BAR is about $800 (all new models for comparison purpose).

Seems to me that the "service grade" M1 or M1A can only do 2.5MOA unless you pay double the $ to get "Match" or "National Match" and even that drops to only 1 to 1.5MOA.

The Browning BAR is easily an 1 to 1.5MOA out-of-the box. If I don't compete in matches. What are the benefits for going the M1 / M1A route if all I am going to do is shoot targets at the ranges?

I agree, but if your just going to shoot targets why not get a bolt that will do 1/2moa? I belive you guys can still get a remington pss in cali.

A long time ago I used to get great pleasure hitting tennis ball up against a brick wall. After a while that got boring and I started playing tennis with other people – many of which became my friends.
Shooting holes in paper is entertaining for a while but competing takes that to a whole new level.
With a Garand you get to compete in the John Garand Rifle competition – a better group of people would be hard to find.
As far as the Garand/Browning comparison – if you can learn to appreciate the historical significance, the design genius, and the beauty of this true battle rifle – the BAR will look very small in comparison.
It’s fun to spank the boy’s at the range with their “modern” hunting rifles also.

I have shot only only Browning BAR, that is the commerical semi auto rifle. That rifle was in 30-06 and I was sighting it in for a hunting buddy.

That rifle was not more accurate than a rack grade M1. And certainly less accurate than any of my match grade Garands. However you are correct that adding match barrels and bedding will almost double the cost of the rifle.