M-pro 7 or hoppes for solvents??

Goodguy14

Hi all,
I'm new to gun ownership.. I've heard great things on both m-pro 7 and hoppes as gun cleaning solvents. What are your thoughts??

Everyone has their favorites and swear by them. Personally, I don't like Hoppes and think other products work better. Also, be aware that some of Hoppes products should not be used on nickle or chrome finishes. I have no experience with the M-Pro products, so no comment.

I tried a lot and I personally like "ClenzOil: Field and Range". It is a all-in-one CLP product (clean, lube and protect) that I find to work very well. The odor of the product is not overpowering either, it is almost a pine scent (they also sell a "dirt" sent for hunters who want to mask any gun oil smells). You can use it on any surface without worry, be it any firearm finish, wood, polymer, plastics, rubber and even leather. I really like the way it cleans all my revolvers, shotguns and pistol.

http://www.clenzoil.com/field__range.aspx

(There's that thing I said about "Everyone has their favorites and swear by them"... lol)

Cool I'll look into that... I was looking more into a solvent and a gun oil seperate. I have some betetta gun oil figured buying the brand of my gun couldn't hurt. I know a lot of people swear by CLPs only. Seems like a good easy way to clean and lube thought!

As far as just solvents go in my local gun shops it seems hoppes and m-pro 7 are the brands most go with..

I have heard that hoppes is not good for chrome lined barrels. Since it could eliminate the copper base that's underneath the nickel and chrome. Anyone hear of this? Makes sense because I hear that it's bad for the nickel barrels. Chrome is only a layer on top of nickel plating. I worked at a plating shop back in the day. Chrome is a 3 layer plating process.. First layer copper, 2nd nickel, and the chrome last.. Makes sense if hoppes removes copper, if there are any cracks in the chrome and nickel could cause trouble..??