Lyman Repros--Opinions, Please

JayC

I have no experience with Lyman BP revolver repros, which I understand they don't make anymore. Does anyone know anything about their .36 Navy model, with a silver frame treatment? One has been offered for sale locally, but I haven't seen it yet. Depending on your feedback, I may not pursue it at all. the price quoted was $150, and I know it has been shot some, including a load with inverted lead .38 (prob. .357) bullets.

The Lyman guns were very high quality. If I remember right, they imported guns from two different manufacturers. I believe Euro Arms was one. $150 sounds like a good price if the gun is in good shape.

This is from the bluebook of modern Blackpowder Arms.

1858 REMINGTON .36 NAVY
- .36 cal perc., 6 shot, 5.5 in. barrel. Disc.
Grading 100% 98% 90% 80%
$125 $105 $70 $50
Last MSR was $170.

They don't say who they imported their guns from, but if the threads are covered at the breech and there is no scooped out area of the frame it is an Euroarms/Armi San Paolo. if the threads are visible, then it's in all probablity an Uberti.

I neglected to mention that I am relatively new to C&B. I should have specified that it is a repro of a Colt, most likely a '51 (as opposed to '61). I imagine that difference will affect the value.

Sorry for the confusion, and thanks for the reply.

Lyman Revolvers

Lyman's black powder revolvers were made by Armi San Paolo and Uberti.
Following are models that have been observed. If anyone knows of any others I would like to add them to the list.

Armi San Paolo (Now Euroarms)

1851 Navy
1851 Navy Civilian Model
1860 Army Civilian Model
Remington Beals Army
Remington Beals Navy

Uberti

Remington 1858 New Model Army
Remington 1858 New Model Navy

Check the RPRCA web site at:

http://rprca.tripod.com[/u You can...heck reviews on Amazon.com about their books.

Last edited:
BPRevolver,