Lubsizer and PID...Little Help Please

Mike / Tx

Ok, my CRS is getting worse it seems, and I guess I am going to have to start writing things down. Thing with that is I then have to remember where I put the darned notes. :D

Not sure if it was someone here, or on another forum, but I distinctly remember reading a reply where someone had tied their PID into the heating element on their lubesizer, and gave the temp range they used for Carnuba Red.

For the life of me I cannot remember who, or where it was though. I checked my PM's but didn't see anything related there.

I have it all wired up and ready to go, just need to figure out what temp to run the Carnuba Red at so I can set the PID. Anyone using this set up?

I've never used this thing before, (lubesizer) and had wanted to be done with a few hundred bullets by now and possibly even shot some. I spent yesterday getting it all mounted up in a somewhat portable fashion so I can store it later on. After that I grabbed up my bag of CR, still unopened, and realized these sticks need a hole in them. So I spent the rest of the afternoon building a mold stand so I could remelt, and re pour the lube up this morning, and have 4 sticks ready and waiting.

Got that done then had to unwire my PID from the thermocouple stuck in the lead and add on a terminal strip to enable switching between the Lee pot and the Lyman sizer.

Now then I am fixing to get busy on some bullets and see if I can manage to squeeze some lube in them.

If you have a temp recommendation shoot it to me.

Last edited:
Mike, that might have been me!??:rolleyes:

pid-heater-luber.jpg

Drilled and tapped into the base of the 450 Lyman. TC is ¼ X 20 threaded.

IMG_0336.jpg

That's the plug that I wired into the PID cabinet. Same male plug is on both of the lee pots. Simply unplug and switch.

As for temp to set it to, if my failing memory serves, it was 90 degrees that made the C-red just about right. Set it there for starters, adjust from there, if needed.