Lubing advice...

I've been casting and loading for a few years now and have always tumble lubed my bullets in alox. I recently casted some 405gr WW alloy 45/70 and they have grease/lube grooves. I thought no big deal, I'll just mix up some lube and pan lube what little bit of 45/70 I want. I mixed up some felix lube which i thought turned out pretty good, added just a bit of green for color and a small dob of vaseline to soften just a bit as I am a bit colder where I live. the lube feels great and feels sticky. The first time I tried to pan lube with it I could not get a consistent fill of the grooves. I tried again but let the pan cool a lot longer and it still did not fill consistently. I resulted to hand lubing as I will not be loading thousands of these so its not a big deal but I need advice as to how full the grooves need to be. Do these look good or do they need to be more full? Any other tips or tricks? I'm all ears!

Attachments

• IMG_3898.JPG
    IMG_3898.JPG
    35.1 KB · Views: 70
  • IMG_3899.JPG
    IMG_3899.JPG
    31.5 KB · Views: 60
I think you'll find that even with conventional lube groove bullets, Lee's Liquid Alox tumble lube works anyway. If you are feeling uncertain about your hand lube job, you can always put the tumble lube over top of it for insurance. Other than that, the only way to be sure is to shoot them and see how the bore does.

I'll move your thread to the casting forum for you. That's where it really belongs.

just do the dry tumble harbor freight red powder coat. Very easy and works with any bullet style.