Low cost 20 gauge pump for total newbie!

Dangus

I need to know what the best 20 gauge pump for the money is for a newbie. I have a girl-friend who needs a self defense shotgun and I think 20 gauge would be a lot better for her than a 12 for this due to kick and penetration issues. I think maybe a .410 is too small, but if someone can recommend a really good option in that gauge I might consider it.

My basic requirements are:

1) As short as legally possible

2) A muzzlebreak/choke if you guys think that would help

3) As large of capacity in the tube as would be practical/reliable.

4) Under 500 dollars absolutely. Under 200 if possible.

5) Pump action is what I am aiming for, but if there is a decent semi-auto in this price range than that will be acceptable too. No single shot or double barrels please.

You should be able to find a Winchester 1300 "Defender" or Mossberg's equivalent (name?) for around $260-$320. Both are short-barrel (18") and have full-length magazines that hold about 6 shells.

If you want something more versatile (i.e. also usable for hunting) check for something with a 20" barrel. Its a decent compromise.

I don't think the 18" barrel versions have screw-in chokes (?) but the 20" barrels probably would. Screw-in chokes can be very helpful for hunting.

Personally, I think a 12ga with light loads ("target" loads) kicks about the same as a 20ga with standard loads, so I would consider a 12ga. In a defensive scenario, the person on the wrong end would not know the difference between a target load or a hunting load.

OTOH, a 20 ga will probably be a lighter shotgun, and with 3" shells is pretty close to a 12 ga, so either is pretty versatile.

OTOH, for either the Winchester or Mossberg, if you buy the gun with the 18" barrel you can buy a separate longer barrel for hunting. They drop in very easily.

So many options....that's what's fun about shotguns.