Looking for advice on .44 Mag

SER56

Inactive
Looking for advice on a .44 Mag for whitetail hunting. I’m fairly new to the sport of whitetail hunting and have had good success with a slug gun. Now I’d like to try my luck with a “large” magnum handgun. I’ve got a couple of brothers that very much enjoy this variant of whitetail hunting and say that the challenge is something to experience. Of course, along with brothers you get advice, some good, some bad, but in this case one of my brothers suggested that I post this group for experiences/suggestions. Here’s what I’m looking at so far: 1) “Most bang for the buck” – Ruger Super Redhawk 7.5”; 2) “Money is no object” – Dan Wesson 445/7445 SuperMag VH8; 3) “Smooth Action/Good Balance” – S&W (Performance Center) 629 Stealth Hunter. Any advice would be appreciated. Also, I'd be interested in any suggestions for optics for any/all of the above. We typically hunt in wooded areas, so 25 - 50 yards is my standard shot.

Thanks

Steve

I will have to skip the optics, never researched them.

I have two double action gp rugers in 357, they are very solid and handle lots of shooting.

When I get a 44 it will be a ruger, but it might be a single action as opposed to the redhawk double action.

Rugers are known to handle hot reloads and keep on going. Not all others can say that. The dan wesson has changed hands enough I figure I will skip them. And new S&W are not known to handle reloads like the ruger. The dan wesson is known for target shooting accuracy though.

Greeting's Everyone,

While I own and shoot a Smith & Wesson 5" barrel 629 "Classic",
my choice for white-tail's would be Ruger's Redhawk .44 magnum
with the 7.5" barrel. IMHO, I believe this would make a very good
choice for a hunting handgun.:) :cool: :D

Best Wishes,
Ala Dan, Life Member N.R.A.

FOUR REDHAWKS