Loading smoothbore flintlocks from the bag

Hi Mike
I earn about 85% of my living making muzzleloaders and I have been making them for 48 years now. I have my own way of doing things in the field from a hunting bag, but I know others that do things differently. Any way that is efficient for the shooter is right, and anything that causes wasted motion is wrong.

I am right handed and I wear my bag on my right side as well as my horn. I know many shooters that are right handed who wear the bag on the left.

I keep a measure for powder and shot which hangs on a thong from the strap on my bag. I keep a shot bag inside my hunting bag for bird shot, and the balls are kept in a compartment inside the main bag, so I can use ball or shot depending on what I want to shoot. Inside a double ended metal box I keep over powder and over-shot wads.

For standard ball I can use the same bag because my rifle and the smooth bore both use the same balls. I simply remover the wads and shot bag when I carry the rifle.

I am told I move very fast when i load, but I don't think so. The real trick is no wasted movements. I never hurry. I simply move my hands at the same speed as i move them if I were working on my bench, picking up a coffee cup, of brushing my teeth.
I fire my shot and reach up to draw the cock to half-cock. I don't go to competitive shoot any more, so I don't care about "PC rules", so I then blow down the bore to see smoke come out my vent and soften the fouling. In doing this I dampen the fouling and I also know my vent is clear. As I blow I am reaching for my horn and measure. As I remove the stopper with my left hand i at the bottom of my left fist my left hand is holding the measure at the top of my left fist. So I pull out the stopper, fill the measure and replace the stopper all in about 2 seconds. I dump the powder in the bore and drop the measure. I can't get lost because it's on a thong.