Loading Pyrodex Question

M14MSgt

I have an 1851 Pietta in .44 caliber. I am new to BP and purchased a jar of Pyrodex instead of Black Poweder, as I am currently imprisoned in the PRK (People's Republic of Kalifornia) and there are no gun shops in my area that sell BP. The jar of Pyrodex has a 'P' on the green label and says it's the fffg equivalent. How many grains of this should I charge a cylinder with? The Pietta manual that came with this revolver says 12-15 grains of fffg for a .44 caliber ball. Yet, in other sources I've read, it says 20-25 grains for a .44 caliber. Any advice would be very much appreciated.

M14MSgt

Real Bp

I was out a few weeks back and the next to me was shooting a BP pistol 44 cal. I am a flinter shooter so I do have a good supply of BP 3F @ 4F
He was using pyrodex P and seem it gave him problem trying to get good groups with the pistol at 15 yards. I ask him if he would like to try some real BP and gave him a small amount of 4F and to his surprise the gun never shot better my 4 F is for priming only in my flinters and I think the can is 5 years old and I still must have 1/2 a can left.
I am sure you know pyrodex is more corrosive then BP so make sure you clean the pistol at the end of the shooting session.

The most accurate load for your revolver will most likely be in the 20-25 grains of 3f, or Pyrodex P, powder. A better alternative to real black is 777, in my opinion. Easier to clean, better ignition, better groups, at least for the majority of my guns.

However, I encourage you to take a look at buying real black powder (Goex) from Graf & Sons. Do the math on 3 lbs or more vs buying Pyrodex locally and you'll find that the $20 Hazmat fee is not a problem. Note that Graf provides free shipping, but requires a purchase of $30 or more (hence the 3 lbs).