Loading Problems Pietta Remington?

psantos

Hello group:

I purchased a new Remington at Cabelas, it seems very nicely finished the lock up is excellent, I am new to BP.

I am confused about the proper use of loading lever, I put the gun at half cock, if I very carefully turn the cylinder, I can seat the ball fine, but if I accidentially turn a little to much clockwise the hand engages the cylinder and prevents me from turning back to center the ball.

I'm a I supposed the turn the cylinder enough for the hand to engage the cylinder ratchet, if so, some something is wrong as the loading lever does not enter the cylinder centered.

It seems timed perfectly.

Thx for posts

Paul

Drop the ball into the mouth of the cylinder and CAREFULLY turn the cylinder until the ramrod drops over the ball, centering it in the recess. Just let the weight of the loading lever rest on the ball while you are turning the cylinder. This helps prevent turning the cylinder too far and having to remove it from the gun.

This is a problem beginning loaders have...I still have to watch it, or the same thing happens to me. I've shot only a few thousand rounds of BP revolver rounds, so maybe I'll get it down, one of these days. :D

Pops

Thx!

My friend has a unique solution, he cocks the hammer just enough to slip a paper clip under it. The cylinder bolt and hand loses contact with cylinder, you can now turn the cylinder either way it spins freely.

Thx

Paul

Hey Psantos,

Could you draw that one out for us? I can find no position in the arc of the hammer where the indexing hand does not engage the cylinder. :confused:

Exactly, I've never had that situation.

The way I load my 2 Cap & Ball Revolvers is as follows...

(1) as allways be sure the weapon is truely empty of powder, ball & caps.
(2) hold the weapon in your left hand.
(3) with the hammer on the first click "half cock"
(4) pour a premeasured amount into the chamber that is to the right of the barrel.