Loading Buck and Ball?

Model12Win

Hello all!

I have a Pedersoli made Harpers Ferry percussion pistol coming in the mail. I am in the process of gathering supplies for shooting, and since this is a smoothbore, I would like to try some buck and ball loads for this pistol.

It is my understanding that these type military "horse" pistols were often loaded with buck and ball. My gun is a .54 caliber, and like I said it's not rifled and has a smoothbore.

I know how to load a patched round ball in a pistol or rifle, but am unsure as to the best way to load buck and ball in a handgun. I have tried researching this, but have gotten conflicting reports on the right way to do it.

I need to know:

What size buckshot should I use?
How many pellets?
How much of a powder charge to start with?
What loading materials do I need to load buck and ball (i.e. wads, cards, etc.)?

Thanks everyone! I am fairly new to muzzleloaders, so if you could all help me, that'd be great. Thanks again!

I'd start with 20 grains FF followed by a cork wad to hold the powder in place. Then one ball followed by three buckshot. As to the size, either #3 (0.25") or #4 buck (0.240") or whatever size allows for three buckshots. This would be topped by a cardboard wad (overshot wad) to keep the shot and ball in place.

Good project. After the smoke clears please come back and tell us all. I dance the dance of unbearable anticipation.

5thShock I don't know if you are being sarcastic, but please do expect a full page write up on this gun with a range review as soon as I can get it out and go shooting!!! :D

I would have thought that the PRB was used to hold the shot in place. Plus with the shot being lighter it would slow down quicker, which is think you'd want behind the larger projectile. What's the reasoning for putting them up front?

I've seen it both ways: ....Ball on bottom (Civil war cartridge); Ball on top (X-ray'd Brown Bess).