Left handed Semi-auto 12 or 20 gauge...

Hello all,

I'm sure this question has popped up here before, but this is a HUGE forum.

I tried a few searches and such but I figured getting the current pulse on the matter would be good.

Here's the story, I haven't shot anything in a long time, not since I got out of the Navy many years ago, and even then it was mostly shot glasses.

Nevertheless, I had the basics down, some good books by Ayoob & Jeff Cooper, and will get back to it. Have a range about 40 minutes from the house that is suitable for everything pistols, small/large bore, and shotgun, as well as instructors on staff who will school me and my wife on the basics and such.

(I will also be purchasing a lever action in .357/38 for general plinking fun in order to get back to the basics of marksmanship)

I'm a NYC resident... We don't need to debate those particulars, I know what the limitations are, I'm certainly not a supporter of the SAFE Act and such, but I just wanted to get that out of the way. Fact of the matter is I'm buying a shotgun & lever action, our permits are imminent, and me & the wife will be using them.

We're both left handed. I'm extremely left handed and my left eye is my dominant eye. I used to have a few lefty bolt actions way back when (BDL 700...). I had an AK for a spell, gave it too my brother, was a fun, especially with the 75 round drum, but I always found working the action a bit awkward being a lefty.

What it comes down to is my choices for a lefty shotty are limited, Benelli and Beretta both make models that I'm interested in. (That's unless of course there's overwhelming information to support that I'll do fine with a right handed gun and some minor modifications, nevertheless, I've always preferred true left handed actions, and instincts are important here.)