Kalifornia Handgun Registration

hkg3

I am a dual resident of Kalifornia and Arizona, however I ONLY purchase firearms in Arizona (big surprise). :rolleyes:

If I purchase a “CA legal” handgun in AZ, say an 80 series 1911, which is on CA’s “approved” list and bring that gun back into CA from AZ, and I choose NOT to register the new gun with the state of CA, what are the penalties for me if I get “caught” with that gun?

I’m not talking about something casual like a cop coming up to me at the range and asking me about the guns I’m shooting, I mean something serious like if I use it in a defensive situation, and a full background check is run on the gun’s serial number.

Somebody told me if a handgun is purchased outside of CA and then brought in to the state and NOT registered, and you get caught, you could be charged with a felony. :eek:

I find this somewhat hard to believe, even for the great state of Kalifornia, so I figured I would run this by any of you who may know. :confused:

There is no firearm registration requirement in California except for assault weapon owners and personal handgun importers.

Since you have dual residency (I presume), you might need to contact the California DOJ or Attorney General's office to determine if you'd be classified as a personal handgun importer.

My guess is that if your voter registration is in Arizona, you'll be considered a resident of that state. But California makes up it's own rules many times.

For CA laws, start here: http://ag.ca.gov/firearms/index.html

If you carry your firearm, even with a CCW, and it is not registered in CA, it can cause you problems.

If you use a firearm bought in Arizona for self-defense and it is not registered to you in California, authorities may seize the gun. As long as you can prove it is legally your firearm, however, you should be fine.

It is important to note that you may not bring into California any magazines capable of holding more than 10 rounds.