Jammed Bushmaster shorty

thequickad

I have a post-ban Bushmaster shorty with the AK muzzle brake. Seems after about 20 rounds, the rifle would jam and cannot feed the rounds properly. Help! thanks!

Some questions and comments:

Is the rifle brand-new? It may take some breaking in. After a few hundred or more rounds through it, the bolt should feel slicker when you pull the cocking handle.

Is there oil on the bolt carrier? Most rifles come bone-dry. Some oil on the rails of the bolt carrier, and inside where the bolt slides inside the recess and on the cam pin should help. If you're breaking in a new rifle, don't be afraid to get a good glop of gun oil (NOT grease!) on there.

Are these malfs all with the same magazine? Try using a different mag only and see if that helps.

Are your mags loaded to maximum? Sometimes downloading by 1 or 2 helps. Sometimes.

Something I noticed a few weeks ago at a rifle class: a student had a rifle just like yours and he tried to shoot with the firing shoulder hunched up to get more of the buttplate on the shoulder. I said relax that shoulder, and just let the "toe" of the stock touch your shoulder. Also pull it into the shoulder. Don't forget lift the firing elbow high, not pointed at the ground.

I'm not sure why, but my suggestions eliminated his malfunctions. I'm guessing that the hunched shoulder mode led to some body flinching that robbed the semi-auto action of support at the critical moment of cycling.

Lastly, a new extractor assembly might help but the old one sounds OK. If you had extractor problems it should be hiccuping every 2-3 rounds.

About the breaking-in: I don't know if this will work but maybe just cycling the rifle by hand (and unloaded!) about a 1000 times will help.

Edmund

Thank you very much for the advise. Rifle was brand new and has been properly oiled. Seems to work fine for the first 20-rd or so and then started to extract but not feeding.