I've seen the light!

Borf

Just got back from the gunshow, giddy as all hell with a S&W Model 19-4 (yes, it's quite used) in pretty good shape! 4" barrel, case hardened hammer & trigger. Pinned and recessed, hammer mounted firing pin. Nice walnut!

Now the Model 19 has been on my list for a while, but I've never owned or fired one. This has to be the best looking revolver ever made! It balances perfectly, it's smooth as anything I've ever held. It's small enough to pack and lighter than my GP-100. I'm somehow instantly in love with the thing... I've ... never... felt... this... way... about a *gun* before! :D

I'm just worried the GP-100 will never get touched again!

To all those that rant about the 19, I now understand ;)

Welcome to the Light Side, Borf.

It's always good to have another convert to the Cult of the Model 19.

I've been saying good things about the Model 19 for nearly 20 years now, since the time when I got to fire my first one.

It's been almost 10 years now since I got my first one, and it was rather quickly followed by another Model 19.

I need a 6" to complete the set, but in my mind, nothing will ever replace the Model 19 4" as the greatest single handgun ever designed.

My 4" Model 19 RB is not my most valuable handgun, but it'd be the last one I'd part with. The Model 19 is an all-time classic, one of the best-balanced and most attractive handguns of all time. With a 4" barrel, it is also the best "do-everything" handgun someone can own.

Borf. Welcome, glad you survived the journey through the forrest of lessers during your excape from Mundania. Be wary tho, they oft demonstrate a tendancy to replicate. Since they are so friendly to both left and right hands, sometimes they clone and you have pairs of identisal twins. Tis a tough chore tending a family of 19s but somebody has to do it. There are many variations of the 19 and they are all friendly.

I let a 19 sleep with a 36 for a while and they had an I frame litter.