Isn't that CZ poly finish softer than the teflon on the frying pans?

Bilbo

Inactive
I've got my CZ 75D Compact (1998 production; PCR if you prefer - it has front slide serrations and illuminated sights) nearly a month ago.

It's a perfect gun in all ways - it shoots great, it looks great and it feels great. I love it!

BUT! There is something I just don't understand (well, I'm new to the world of guns, so I could be wrong). Its finish, called "black polymer", seems to me VERY far away from being durable. I think the teflon paint on my frying pans is at least a bit harder than this so called polymer.:mad: And I am quite sure I will not requre such a durability from my pans that I will require from my firearm.

I've own the pistol for less than a month and it already has nearly a dozen of scratches (well, they are small, but they are scratches anyway, you may not notice them, but I DO :(). So how will it look after a year? After 5 years? And I have cared for it much. I don't want to think what will happen if I haven't. But that's a gun, not a chinese vase, so I think it SHOULD be made durable and that means the finish as well. After all you can't keep your gun under a glass cover and never even touch it, so you wouldn't make a scratch on it accidentally.

On the other hand I respect Ceska Zbrojovka very much and that makes me think that I am wrong in some or other way. I just don't believe that CZ engineers are that stupid to make the gun worse than these h*##$sh frying pans.

So, I'll be happy to hear you opinion guys.

What do you think of the poly finish?

What is your experience?

How do you maintain it?

And whatever else you might like to say...

Thanks!
And don't laught at me much... ;)

Bilbo